Skip to main content

St. Lawrence County Planning Office

Eight Year Review for Agricultural District 1 Annual Review for Agricultural District 2, Consolidation of Agricultural District 2 into District 1 and Public Hearing Set


Legal Notice for 30 Day Review

Public Hearing to Receive Comments on Recommended Changes to Agricultural District 1 and 2



Agricultural Disctricts 1 & 2 

There are two Agricultural Districts located in St. Lawrence County.  

District 1 includes the towns of DeKalb, DePeyster, Edwards, Fowler, Gouverneur, Hammond, Hermon, Macomb, Morristown, Oswegatchie, Pitcairn, Rossie and Russell.  

District 2 includes Brasher, Canton, Hopkinton, Lawrence, Lisbon, Louisville, Madrid, Massena, Norfolk, Oswegatchie, Parishville, Pierrepont, Potsdam, Russell, Stockholm, and Waddington.  

The Benefits of Being in an Ag District   Farmers who include their property in an ag district receive protections from new non-farm land uses that are developed next to their land, and the NYS Agricultural Districts Law prevents local laws from unreasonably restricting farm operations that are located in the district.

More information about the benefits of being in an ag district can be found in the attached FactSheet or by visiting the New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets website.

County Accepting Applications to  Add Property to Ag Districts 1 and 2     Landowners seeking to add property to an ag district must submit an inclusion form to the County Planning Office.  All requests for inclusion must be received or postmarked no later than March 30th of each year.

Maps showing land in an ag district are available online at