

St. Lawrence County Public Health Department

Dana Olzenak McGuire, PT, PhD • Public Health Director 80 State Highway 310, Suite 2 • Canton, New York 13617-1476 Phone: (315) 386-2325 • Fax: (315) 386-2203

Press Release

Date: July 22nd, 2020 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: 315-386-2325

Traveling to St. Lawrence County? Here's what you should know:

Canton, NY— Due to the increased rate of COVID-19 in certain states across the country, New York State has joined New Jersey and Connecticut in jointly issuing a travel advisory for anyone returning from travel to states with significant community spread of COVID-19. As of July 21st there are 32 states on the restricted travel list, which can be found at <u>https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory</u>. This list is updated on a weekly basis and changes as states increase or decrease in COVID-19 cases. All travelers entering New York will be required to quarantine for a 14 day period from the time of last contact with the identified state.

The St. Lawrence County Public Health Department assists in the quarantine process by:

- Monitoring the health of the traveler for 14 days for the development of symptoms
- Helping the traveler receive testing
- Making sure all of the traveler's needs are met (safe environment to quarantine in, access to food, medication and other services)
- Answering questions and supporting the individual during their quarantine period

The requirements to safely quarantine include:

- Remaining in the designated quarantine area for the 14 day period- staying out of public.
- Living and sleeping in separate spaces from all other individuals in the group. If a bathroom is to be shared, cleaning supplies (disinfectant wipes and bleach) must be used after every use.
- The individual must have a way to self-quarantine from household members should symptoms develop in a separate room with a separate door- to avoid exposing all household members to the virus.
- Meals must be eaten separately from other household members.
- The individual should have a supply of face masks to wear while in shared living spaces of the house.
- The individual should monitor their temperature and symptoms daily.

This quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. For information regarding exemptions for Essential Workers please go to the Exemptions section of the Travel Advisory page.

All travelers coming from designated states must complete the <u>Traveler Health Form</u> upon entering New York. Travelers who leave the airport without completing the form will be subject to a \$2,000 fine and may be brought to a hearing and ordered to complete mandatory quarantine. Travelers coming to New

York from designated states through other means of transport, such as cars and trains, must fill out the form online. If a traveler needs assistance in locating the form, the traveler should call the St. Lawrence County Public Health Department at 315-386-2325 for assistance.

The travel advisory requires all New Yorkers, and those visiting from out of state, to take personal responsibility for complying with the advisory in the best interest of public health and safety. For more information on the travel advisory, please go to the <u>New York State COVID-19 Travel Advisory page</u> and check out the <u>Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Quarantine Restrictions on Travelers Arriving in New York State Document</u> for more details and information. Any individual traveling back to St. Lawrence County from a designated state should call the St. Lawrence County Public Health Department at 315-386-2325 for guidance and direction on the quarantine process.

###