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ARTICLE I: PREAMBLE

The County of St. Lawrence, hereinafter referred to as the "County" and Council 82 AFSCME,
Local 2390S, hereinafter referred to as the "Union" declare it to be their mutual policy that, in order
to promote harmonious labor relations between the County and its employees, the principle of
collective bargaining is to be employed pursuant to the New York State Public Employee's Fair
Employment Act and that no Article or Section in this contract is to be construed to be in any

violation of New York State or Federal Laws.

ARTICLE II: RECOGNITION

Section 1. The County recognizes Council 82 AFSCME, as the sole and exclusive representative
for all employees of Local 2390S in the unit described in Article III for the purpose of collective
bargaining and grievances, as prescribed by law.

Scction 2. The County shall deduct from the wages of employees and remit to Council 82
AFSCME, Local 2390S, regular membership dues from those employees who have signed
authorization permitting such payroll deductions in a manner and form approved by the County and
the Union. Any changes in the amount of union dues to be deducted must be certified in writing to

the County from the Union.

Section 3. Council 82, AFSCME, Local 2390S affirms that it does not assert the right to strike
against the County, to assist or participate in any such strike, or to impose an obligation upon its
members to conduct, assist, or participate in such a strike.

ARTICLE III: COLLECTIVE BARGAINING UNIT

Section 1. The Bargaining unit as referred to in this Agreement shall include the following titles:
Correction Sergeant

Any new (non-management) titles created to work in the Correctional Facility will be discussed
at Labor-Management to determine if it would be appropriate to include in the collective

bargaining unit.

Section 2. The employer shall notify the Union President or designee within 10 days of the hiring
of new employees including addresses, activity, and employment status.

Section 3. The County agrees that intemnational, council, or local representatives shall be allowed to
enter premises of the County with the approval of the Sheriff or his designee to discuss working
conditions with employees. Such requests shall be at least 24 hours in advance except in the case of
an emergency. Such representative shall not interfere with performance of assigned duties.

Section 4. The employer agrees to furnish facilities for Union meetings.

Section 5. The County agrees to provide a bulletin boards in the Correctional Facility for the
exclusive use by the Union and to permit the Union to post notices on them.
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Section 6. The County shall be responsible for the cost of printing copies of the contract for
distribution by the Union to present employees and any new employees hired.

Section 7. The County agrees that Union representatives shall be allowed reasonable time to
conduct grievance investigations and proceedings and to transmit communication and other Union
activities on County premises without loss of pay or loss of leave credits. The Union agrees to
submit to the County a current list of the Sergeants who would be engaged in such activities and
agrees that such release time shall not interfere with the activities of the department. The County is
not obliged to recognize any union representative whose name does not appear on the most current

list provided to the County.

Section 8. The union president or his designee and one (1) other employees designated by the
president, shall be granted release time without charge to leave credits or loss of pay to engage in
negotiations for a successor contract. The union shall notify the Sheriff 7 days in advance when
possible or as soon as possible of the need of such time and the names of the employees seeking the

release time.

Section 9. Time Off With Pay

(a) One hundred twenty (120) hours of time off with pay shall be granted by the Sheriff or his
designee to appointed Association representatives to attend official Association functions. With

the limit of 2 employees off.

(b) Time off with pay shall be granted by the Sheriff or his designee to appointed Association
stewards and/or representatives to attend training up to a maximum of six (6) employee days per
year. If more days are needed, the union must obtain approval from the Sheriff or his designee.

Section 10. Written notification shall be presented to the Sheriff by the President of the Association
no later than two (2) weeks in advance of the date the leave is to commence. However, the Sheniff
or his designee may grant time off for official association functions with less than two weeks notice
if said time off does not interfere with the operations of the department.

Section 11. Labor-Management Program

(a) The County and the Union agree to establish a joint Labor-Management Committee for the
purpose of providing communication, discussion and resolvement of problems arising from the
interpretation and administration of said contract and other conditions or terms of employment.

(b) The Labor-Management Committee shall be composed of three (3) members appointed by the
Chairman of the St. Lawrence County Legislature. The Union President will appoint two (2)

members in addition to him/herself.

(c) Both the County and the Union will appoint a Chairman and meetings will be called by mutual
agreement of these Chairmen. The Sheriff or his designee shall grant time off to appointed members
without loss of pay or charge to leave credits. It is understood that Labor Management Meetings
may be attended by Council 82 AFSCME, Local 2390S representatives.



ARTICLE IV: RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The intent and purpose of this Article is to set forth the Rights and Responsibilities of the County as
well as the Rights and Responsibilities of the Union. Nothing contained herein shall deprive the
County and the Union of any protection and/or rights they have under this Agreement, the New
York State Civil Service Law or other applicable law.

A. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE COUNTY:

Section 1. Nothing in this agreement shall be construed as delegating the authority conferred by
Jaw on any elected official, department, office or agency head, or the Chief Executive Officer or
in any way to reduce or abridge such authority.

Section 2. The Rights and Responsibilities of the County include, but are not limited to the
following:

(a) To determine the standards of services to be offered by its offices, agencies and departments;

(b) To direct the employees of the County;

(c) To hire, promote, transfer, assign and retain employees and to suspend, demote, discharge or
take disciplinary action against employees;

(d) To relieve employees from duties because of lack of work, or for other legitimate reasons;
(e) To determine the methods, means and personnel by which such operations are to be conducted;
() To maintain the efficiency of Government Operations entrusted to them.

Section 3. Rules and Regulations

The Sheriff may promulgate appropriate rules, regulations, policies and procedures. The Union
shall receive a copy of such rules, regulations, policies and procedures thirty (30) days prior to
their effective date. The Union shall have the right to discuss such rules, regulations, policies
and procedures before they become effective. No rule, regulation, policy and procedure shall
take precedence over any matter described in this Agreement.

B. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE UNION:

Section 1. Employees of the Sheriff's Department shall have the right to form, join and
participate in or refrain from joining or participating in the employee organization free from
interference, coercion, restraint, discrimination or reprisal.

Section 2. The Union has the right to represent all employees of the Sheriff's Department in the
negotiating unit on any matter concerning the terms and other conditions of employment within
the limits of this agreement. However, nothing in this agreement shall be construed as to
preclude any employee, regardless of Union membership, from bringing matters of personal
concern directly to the attention of the appropriate appointing authority.



Section 3. The Union has the right, either as a representative of any employee or as an observer,
to have at least one (1), but not more than two (2) individuals present at any grievance or appeal
hearing involving an employee who is determined to be in the negotiating unit.

Section 4. The Union will honestly and fairly represent any union member within the
negotiating unit concerning the terms of this agreement.

ARTICLE V: ADMINISTRATION OF SALARY PLAN

Section 1. Effective upon ratification of the contract, active employees will receive a one-time lump
sum payment of one thousand two hundred fifty ($1,250) dollars which will not be added to base

salary.

(a) A two and three quarter percent (2.75%) wage increase and employees hired before July 1,
2021 and not at top step will move to the next step in accordance with Appendix A, effective

the pay period beginning January 08, 2022.

(b) A two and three quarter percent (2.75%) wage increase and employees hired before July 1,
2022 and not at top step will move to the next step in accordance with Appendix A, effective

the pay period beginning January 07, 2023.

(c) A two and three quarter percent (2.75%) wage increase and employees hired before July 1,
2023 and not at top step will move to the next step in accordance with Appendix A, effective

the pay period beginning January 06, 2024.

(d) A two and three quarter percent (2.75%) wage increase and employees hired before July 1,
2024 and not at top step will move to the next step in accordance with Appendix A, effective
the pay period beginning January 04, 2025.

(¢) A two and three quarter percent (2.75%) wage increase and employees hired before July
1, 2025 and not at top step will move to the next step in accordance with Appendix A,
effective the pay period beginning January 03, 2026.

Section 2. Full-time employees assigned to the "C" shift (3PM-11PM), or portions thereof, shall
receive one dollar ($1.00) per hour differential and the "A" shift (11PM-7AM), or portions
thereof, shall receive a seventy-five cent ($.75) per hour differential. In no event will differentials
be paid for those hours worked which are simply extensions of the regular shift assignments, i.e.
"overtime."

Section 3. The County agrees to pay any employee who works out of title the appropriate pay at the
same rate as outlined above during the time they are performing duties out of title.



Section 4.

(2) The County agrees to pay authorized overtime at a rate of time and a half (1 1/2) for all
permanent forty (40) hour per week employees. Overtime pay will not commence until after the
employee has worked 40 hours per week. Excused absences, other than sick call-ins, shall
count toward the 40 hours. Forced OT will be paid at overtime rates regardless of sick call-

ins.

(b) All employees will be entitled to overtime compensation (at the rate set forth in Section 5 below)
for all authorized "unscheduled" shift assignments worked over and above their "scheduled"
shift assignment work during a bi-weekly pay period. Excused absences shall count toward

their scheduled shift assignment work.

Example Schedule in a Pay Period:
regular schedule = (Sat, Sun, Mon, Tue, Thu)

Week | Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed | Thu | Total Hours

Days

Ex.#1 |8 8 call-in | 8 8 32 reg, 8 sick
Ex.#2 | 8 8 8 8 8 40 reg

Ex.#3 | 8 vac 8 8 8* 8 32 reg, 8 vac, § OT
Ex.#4 | 8 8 call-in | 8 8* 8 40 reg, 8 sick
*authorized time worked over and above “scheduled” work assignment

Section 5.

(2) Authorized Overtime will be paid at one half (1 4 ) times the employees annual
salary (computed by dividing annual salary by 2,080 hours)

(b) Employees who are eligible for fifteen minutes, of pre-shift preparation, will be paid
Compensatory time, in lieu of regular overtime, calculated at one and one half (1 ') times the
actual hours worked. In order to be eligible for this pre-shift preparation pay, the member must
physically work his/her normal schedule on that day as well as an additional fifteen (15) minutes

prior to the start of his/her shift.

(c) Compensatory time off will be scheduled through the Sheriff, Jail Administrator, Assistant Jail
Administrator or their designee.

(d) Compensatory time off will be granted on a first come first served basis. The requests for
Compensatory time off must occur during a current bid cycle and will be granted to the first
person within the Correctional Sergeant ranks with at least twenty-four (24) hours’ notice. Not
more than one Correctional Sergeant members will be granted Compensatory time off on any
given shift. The Sheriff may waive this limit if it does not negatively impact the Correctional
Facility operation (i.e. create overtime).

(¢) The maximum amount of Compensatory time that can be taken by an individual member of this
bargaining unit within a calendar year is forty-eight (48) hours.



() Eight (8) of those hours may be converted to personal leave, if requested in writing through the
Sheriff, Jail Administrator, Assistant Jail Administrator or their designee. This request may be
granted as long as the maximum amount of personal leave, six (6) days or forty-eight (48)
hours, is not exceeded. Members of the bargaining unit may not carry over any compensatory

time from year to year.

(g) Employees have the option of converting compensatory time to payment, at the rate of pay at
which it was earned, in the first pay period in July of each year. Employees will be required to
make notification to the Sheriff or his designee not later than June 155,

(h) Any unused Compensatory time not used by the last pay period of December will be calculated
as overtime and paid to the employee, at the rate of pay at which it was earned, in the first
full pay period in January. Compensatory hours on the time and accrual sheets already include
the one and one-half (1 %) times the number of hours actually worked.

(i) Compensatory time cannot be used in the same pay period that it is earned/accrued.
(Employees may not utilize more than the available balance as indicated on MUNIS or

their most recent pay check/direct deposit notification).

Section 6. Employees called in, or required to work, while off duty shall receive pay, calculated at
their appropriate rate, for a minimum of four (4) hours. This "forced overtime" shall only adjust the
overtime rotation in the correctional facility if the employee is working in the capacity of any job

related duty.

Section 7. All Correctional Officers, which includes Sergeants, Corporals, and Correction Officers,
may be subject to work mandated overtime on occasion. In this event the following procedure shall

be followed:

(a) A listing of all Correctional staff members listed above, by job title, will be established;

(b) In the event that overtime becomes available, staff members, will be called and asked if they
want the overtime. Sergeants who want to be on the list shall submit their request to the Jail
Administrator during the posting of the shift bid;

(¢) Ifin the event that no Supervisor accepts the overtime, the overtime will be mandated to the
Supervisor currently working with the lowest number on the forced overtime (FOT) list;

(d) Supervisors working mandated overtime shall not be required to work more than eight (8)
hours per workweek unless in an emergency situation (ex. all officers have been contacted,

no supervisor on the shift, power outage, etc.)

Section 8. Pre-Shift briefing

Effective July 5, 2014, employees are required to report for work 15 minutes prior to the
beginning of the shift and will be compensated at the appropriate rate of pay. Compensation will
only be made to employees who report for the pre-shift briefing.




Section 9. Reinstatements
Effective November 1, 2021 all employees that are reinstated (civil service definition) to their

previous job within a year of the date they resigned or retired will be placed on the same step
that they left at. Benefits will start over as if employee is a new hire. Seniority will be
adjusted to reflect the amount of time the employee was resigned or retired. (Ex. Seniority
date 10/06/20 becomes 12/06/20 if the employee resigns on 01/05/21 and is reinstated on
03/05/21.) Employees hired prior to November 1, 2021 will not be adjusted based on this

language.

ARTICLE VI: WORK DAY AND WORK WEEK

Section 1. All employees shall be scheduled a minimum of 160 hours of shift assignment work
every two (bi-weekly) pay periods, and shall work an average of 80 hours of scheduled shift

assignment work each bi-weekly pay period.
Section 2. The procedure for shift selection shall be as follows:

On March 1, June 1, September 1, and December 1 of each year, all shift assignments shall be
posted. Employees shall submit requests for their shift assignment preference by the 10th of said
months. Employees shall be assigned to shifts of their preference in accordance with seniority.
Awards shall be made effective the payroll week nearest the twentieth (20th) of the month. For the
purpose of this Article, seniority shall be in accordance with Article 15.3. Where special needs are
required, assignments may be made on a temporary basis without regard to seniority. The Union
shall be advised as to the reasons and the projected time for such assignments. The reassignment
for a 30 day period may be obtained through a voluntary swap. Should no voluntary swap be
obtained, management may assign on a rotating inverse seniority basis from the shift affected by the

reassignment.

Section 3. The County will establish a schedule consisting of four (4) work days, two (2) regular
days off. Employees who are lacking the required 2080 hours will be pre-scheduled during shift bid
in order to meet the required hours. If the Union or the County want to opt out of this arrangement
it will be presented in writing to the other party and they will meet to discuss problems. Nothing
in this section will invalidate the County’s rights set out in Article IV of this contract which
allows for the County to set work schedules according to operational needs.

ARTICLE VII: HOLIDAYS

Section 1. All employees in the bargaining unit shall receive twelve (12) days (96 hours) off per
year in lieu of holidays which shall be built into employee schedules at the discretion of
Administration. Any employee who is required to work on Christmas shall be paid two (2) times
his or her regular hourly rate. Any employee who is required to work on holidays other than
Christmas is to be paid one and one-half (1%4) times his/her regular rate. Any employee required to
work overtime on a holiday shall receive one and one-half (1'2) times his/her holiday rate.



Section 2. None of these regulations, however, shall be construed as preventing the Board of
Legislators from granting employees such additional days off with pay if it may be duly authorized.

Section 3. Holidays to be observed are as follows:
New Year’s Day Columbus Day
Presidents’ Day Election Day
Martin Luther King Day Veterans’ Day
Memorial Day Thanksgiving Day
Independence Day Day after Thanksgiving
Labor Day Christmas

Section 4. Holidays shall be designated each year by Human Resources.

ARTICLE VIII: VACATIONS

Section 1.

(a) Permanent forty (40) hour/week employees shall earn vacation in hours per payroll period in
accordance with the following schedule. To earn leave accruals, employees must have been in
payroll status for a full payroll period. Employees shall not accrue vacation credit during any
period of absence, which is compensable under the Workers' Compensation Law or Disability

Benefits Law.

After completion of one (1) full year of service, vacation time shall be credited to employees on
the anniversary date of their employment as per the following schedule:

1 through 5 yrs. completed service - 10 days annual vacation

6 through 10 yrs. completed service - 20 days annual vacation
11 through 15 yrs. completed service - 25 days annual vacation
16 through 20 yrs. completed service - 30 days annual vacation
21+ years - 35 days annual vacation

No employee can accrue more than two (2) years vacation credit.

(b) Vacation time requested and approved by the Sheriff or his designee must be taken by the
employee unless permission to cancel the approved vacation time is granted by the Sheriff or

his designee.

(c) Employees who leave County employment for any reason before their first anniversary, lose all
vacation accruals. They may not sell them back as outlined in Article VIII, Section 4.



Section 2.

Request for 32 hours, or more, of vacation leave shall be submitted to the Sheriff, or his designee,
during the bidding period in which the vacation is requested with seniority to be considered.
Granting or denial of these vacation requests shall be made with the posting of the quarterly shift
schedule as defined in Article VI, Section 2. Block vacations will not be denied for the sole reason

of overlapping blocks of two days or less.

(a) During the months of July and August, all employees shall not be allowed to take in excess
of three (3) consecutive weeks of ninety-six hours (96) or one hundred four (104) hours of

vacation leave depending on the work schedule.
(b) No other time off may be used in extending these allocations.

(c) Vacation time that was requested and approved will not require any call backs to confirm time
off.

(d) Vacation time may be used in combination with personal time where there is insufficient hours
to cover an eight (8) hour shift request.

Section 3. No vacation allowance or pay shall be made to any employee until after completion of a
six (6) month probationary period. However, the accumulation of vacation allowance and/or pay
shall be retroactive to the date of original appointment and shall be credited to the employee on the

first (1st) day of the seventh (7th) month of employment.

Section 4. When upon resignation the employee has accumulated unused vacation time, not to
exceed 30 days, the employee may elect to receive the monetary value computed at the
employee’s regular hourly rate of that accumulated unused vacation time provided the
employee gives a 2 week notice and works the entire notice period (except when the
employee has a medical emergency or exigent circumstances exist) at the discretion of the
Sheriff. In case of death, the Employer shall pay the monetary value of the deceased’s
accumulated unused vacation time to the employee’s beneficiary(ies) as designated on the
employees St. Lawrence County Group Life Insurance card.

Upon retirement an employee may elect to receive the monetary value computed at the employee's
regular hourly rate of that accumulated unused vacation time up to a maximum of two (2) years
vacation credit. At the option of the Sheriff or his designee, an employee selecting to retire may be
required to work up to his day of retirement (i.e. no vacation immediately before retirement).

Section 5.

(a) Permanent forty (40) hour per week employees may be paid the monetary value of half of the
total hours used under this section, not to exceed forty (40) hours if:

1. They take between 72 and 80 consecutive hours of vacation within a calendar year,

OR
2. They take 2 scheduled vacation blocks that total between 72 and 80 hours.
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(b) Vacation time must be requested in writing stating that options in this section are being
exercised. If the employee wishes to be paid in advance of the first vacation day this request
must be made 30 days prior to the first vacation day. Once an employee has selected options
under this section and has been paid, the vacation dates shall not be changed or canceled.

An eligible employee may exercise this section only once each calendar year. Vacation time
is subject to approval by the Sheriff or his Designee as described elsewhere in this Article.

Vacation time utilized to earn the vacation buyback bonus may not include vacation time
already taken. This section is effective on the date of contract signing.

ARTICLE IX: SICK LEAVE

Section 1.

(a) Sick leave shall be granted to an employee due to illness, bodily injury and exposure to
contagious diseases and attendance upon members of the immediate family whose illness
requires the care of said employee. Sick leave shall be granted to all employees for each relative
living in the household as follows: Husband, Wife, Son, Daughter, Father, Mother, Brother,
Sister, Grandparents or Domestic Partner. The above terms include natural, in-law, and step
relationship. Sick leave time for all employees working a forty (40) hour work week shall be
charged at the rate of eight (8) hours per sick day used. No sick leave charge can be less than
one-half (%) hour. The decision to award time off in these time increments shall rest with
management in terms with the best management interests of the Sheriff's Department.

A Domestic Partner is defined as one in which the partners must be 18 years of age or older,
unmarried and not related by marriage or blood in a way that would bar marriage; reside
together; and are involved in a committed (lifetime) rather than a casual relationship and
mutually interdependent financially. The partners must be each other’s sole domestic partner
and must have been involved in the domestic partnership for a period of not less than one year.
The County employee may not have a spouse covered under his or her St. Lawrence County
Insurance Plan enrollment and still be eligible to cover a domestic partner.

(b) All employees shall receive sick leave at the rate of two and one-half (2 ') hours per payroll
period. After completing four (4) years of service, these employees will receive sick leave at

the rate of five (5) hours per payroll period.
(c) Such earnings may be accumulated up to a maximum of two thousand hours (2,000).

Section 2. An unscheduled absence is any occasion in which an employee requests the use of sick
leave accruals prior to the beginning of a shift or during any given shift.

(a) Each two (2) consecutive days off using sick leave accruals will be considered one (1)
occasion of unscheduled absence. More than two (2) consecutive days off using sick leave
accruals will be considered one (1) occasion of unscheduled absence if the employee returns
with a note from his/her physician. Failure to provide a note from his/her physician will
result in every day of sick leave used being considered an occasion of unscheduled absence.
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Example: Employee is out four (4) consecutive days with a doctor’s note that equals one (1)
occasion; without a doctor’s note that equals two (2) occasions.

(b) Unscheduled Absences shall be based on occasions an employee uses within a calendar
year.

(c) An employee shall be notified in writing when they have utilized eight (8) occasions.

(d) An employee who has used nine (9) or more occasions will be required to furnish proof  of
illness or disability for him/her or for members of their immediate family whose illness may
require their attendance. Failure to provide such proof of illness as required, or unsatisfactory
evidence of illness or evidence indicating that the physical or medical condition was not such to
justify absence from work or any abuse of sick leave may be cause for disciplinary action.

i. If the employer suspects that an employee is abusing sick leave, the employer may require
validity of the illness by either a doctor's certification, or verification from a public health

nurse, at the employee's option.

ii. Every three (3) occasions of sick leave following the eighth (8™) occasion within the same
calendar year may result in another step in the disciplinary process. Discipline, as a result
of sick leave, will be removed from an employee’s file after 24 months provided there have
been no other instances of discipline during that period, as a result of discipline for sick

leave.

The Sheriff or his designee may require an employee who has been on sick leave, prior to, and as a
condition of his return to employment, to be examined by a County designated physician and/or
mental health professional, at the expense of the County, to determine that the employee is able to
perform duties or what restrictions, if any, may have been placed on him by the doctor and/or
mental health professional; and that his return to work will not jeopardize his own health and safety
or the health and safety of other employees. The designated physician and/or mental health
professional will be provided by the Sheriff's Department with a description of the duties of the

employee.

Section 3. Extended sick leave may only be used after regular sick leave accruals have been
exhausted, during a long-term illness. Long-term illness shall be defined as an illness that results
in time off work of at least six consecutive weeks. Extended sick leave is not intended to be used
for elective surgery, cosmetic surgery, minor illnesses or minor disabilities of any kind. Medical
documentation of the need for extended sick leave shall be required. Extended sick leave shall
be granted to a permanent employee at one-half (}%) their normal salary at the rate of one (1)
month for each completed two (2) years of service up to a maximum of six (6) months.
Extended Sick Leave pay will only be provided for consecutively missed days connected to the
extended sick leave taken for the long-term illness. ESL pay will cease as soon as the employee
returns to work for any length of time. The ESL benefit is available to eligible employees one
(1) time in their tenure with the County. Once an employee elects to use this benefit, they shall
not continue to accrue the benefit nor shall it be available for uses not related to the original
injury or ailment. Employees hired on or after January 1, 2018 shall not be eligible for extended

sick leave.
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Section 4. When an employee finds it necessary to absent himself for reason of personal illness or
bodily injury or for attendance upon members of the immediate family whose illness requires the
care of said employee, he shall notify his supervisor two (2) hours before the start of his/her work

shift.

Section 5. No sick leave or pay shall be made to any employee until after completion of a six (6)
month probationary period. However, such accumulation of sick leave or pay shall be retroactive to
the date of original appointment and shall be credited to the employee on the first (1st) day of the
seventh (7th) month of employment. However, in the event an employee is absent because of
illness or bodily injury incurred in his regular employment, sick leave with pay will commence on
the first (1st) day of such illness or bodily injury.

Section 6. While on sick leave with pay, employees will continue to accrue sick leave at their
regular prescribed rate during such absence. However, such accrual shall not be available to
employee until said employee returns from such sick leave.

Section 7. Sick leave credits will not accrue during leaves of absence without pay, or periods of
suspension.

Section 8. A record of such sick leave shall be filed with the County Personnel Office.

Section 9. Drug Testing

The Sheriff or his designee may require drug testing on any employee based on reasonable
suspicion of drug use. A fair and reasonable due process procedure, as described in the correctional
facility's policies and procedures, is to be used in conjunction with this reasonable suspicion.

ARTICLE X: PERSONAL LEAVE

Section 1. All permanent forty (40) hour/week employees shall be granted personal leave at the rate
of three (3) days or twenty-four (24) hours per calendar year.

The Sheriff or his designee may limit the number of employees granted personal leave to one
employee per shift. However, additional requests for such leave will not be unreasonably denied.
Personal leave may be used in hourly units. A record of such personal leave shall be filed with the

County Personnel Office.

Personal leave shall be granted based on seniority. No personal leave may be taken on a holiday.
Personal leave may accrue to a maximum of 48 hours. Personal time cannot be used in the
same pay period that it is earned/accrued. (Employees may not utilize more than the
available balance as indicated in MUNIS or on their most recent pay check/direct deposit

notification.

Section 2. All employees in the bargaining unit who enter County service after January 1 of the
calendar year shall be credited with personal leave at the rate of two (2) hours for each full calendar
month the employee is employed weozked during the first calendar year of employment.
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Section 3. Bereavement Leave of three (3) days shall be granted to all employees for the death of
each relative as follows: Husband, Wife, Son, Daughter, Father, Mother, Brother, Sister,
Grandparents, Grandchildren, Step-children, and Domestic Partner as defined in Article IX, Section
1. (a). The above terms include natural, in-law, and step relationship.

Section 4. In an emergency, notification to an immediate supervisor will suffice.

ARTICLE XI: LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Section 1. A leave of absence without pay, not to exceed on (1) year may be granted to a full time
permanent employee by the Sheriff.

Section 2. Any full-time, permanent employee who becomes pregnant shall be granted up to six (6)
months leave of absence without pay. Vacations, holidays and sick leave and other fringe benefits
shall not accumulate during such maternity leave. However, the employee, upon her return to work
shall retain any benefits accrued up to the date of commencement of the maternity leave.

Section 3. During an approved leave of absence without pay and subject to and consistent with
the St. Lawrence County Employees Group Health Insurance Plan, coverage may be continued,
provided direct payment of the total premium is made to the County Treasurer as prescribed by
the Personnel Department. Failure to make timely payments will result in cancellation of

coverage.

ARTICLE XII: WORKERS' COMPENSATION

An employee who is injured on the job is entitled to Worker's Compensation benefits as provided
by New York State Law. He may, however, accept the medical care provided by Workers'
Compensation and elect to receive full pay for such time off as he has sick leave credits. In the
event that the employee elects sick leave rather than Workers' Compensation benefits, the
County shall request reimbursement for the sick leave so used, as provided by the New York
State Workers' Compensation Law. Leave credits, equal to the money value (computed to the
nearest half day) of the above credit, which is paid directly to the County, shall be restored to the

employee's credit.

ARTICLE XIII: HEALTH INSURANCE AND OTHER INSURANCE

Section 1. The County will provide eligible employees and their dependents with health insurance
coverage equivalent or better than the current Plan with exceptions as negotiated. It shall be the
sole and exclusive right of the County to determine the insurance carrier. In addition, a Term Life

Insurance policy will be provided to eligible County employees.
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Section 2. Effective the pay period beginning January 08, 2022, the employee will contribute
9%, of the premium equivalent rate (PER) for Individual health insurance coverage, 12% for

Individual + Dependents coverage, and 16% for Family coverage.

Premium equivalent rates (PER) for individual, individual + dependents, and family coverage
under a selfiinsured health insurance program will be established annually by a benefit
consultant based on a rating formula that takes into consideration current and prior year claims
data (medical and RX), trends, and estimated fixed costs (TPA fees, consultant fees, ACA fees,

etc.).

As of January 1, 2006, The County will implement/provide a Managed Three Tiered Formulary
Plan for Prescriptions. The prescription co-pays will be as follows:

Effective, January 1, 2022, the prescription co-pays will be as follows:

Generic Formulary Non-Formulary
Retail $15.00 $35.00 $56.00
Mail Order $15.00 $50.00 $80.00

Effective the pay period ending, January 11, 2019, employees utilizing Brand Name
Maintenance medications that are on the SLC Meds (CanaRX) formulary ($0 copay) but go
through Pro-Act will pay an additional $50 copay for these drugs.

Effective, the pay period ending, January 11, 2019, medical PCP/Specialty co-payments shall
increase from $17.00 to $20.00. In-patient Hospital and Emergency Room (non-emergent) co-
pays shall be $100. Emergency Room (emergent) co-pays shall be $50. Out of Network UCR
allowance will change from 90% to 75%. Out of Network co-insurance will change from 20% to
40%. Effective upon November 1, 2021 telemedicine co-pay shall change from $10 to $0.

Section 3. Eligibility for membership in the County Insurance Program will commence on the first
(1st) day of employment and shall become effective on the first day of the following month.
Enrollment is not automatic and application for inclusion in the program must be made by the

employee through the Personnel Office.

Section 4. The County will assume 100% of the group life insurance premium charge for eligible
employees. The cost of eligible dependents group life insurance coverage shall be borne by the

eligible employee.
Section 5.

(a) Employees returning from leaves of absence without pay, or Workers' Compensation, must
review his/her benefit participation status with the Persorme] Department within ten (10) days of

their return.

(b) Employees returning from breaks in employment must complete and sign new enrollment or
waiver cards for the benefit programs within thirty (30) days.
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Section 6. The County will increase the yearly and lifetime health insurance limits to at least the
plan limits in place as of December 31, 2007.

Section 7. Council 828 agrees to join the prescription management plan currently implemented by
the County for the purpose of cost containment. Benefits under the current plan are not impacted by

this prescription management plan.

Section 8. Council 828 agrees to join the Flexible Benefit Plan (IRS Section 125) currently offered
by the County. Health insurance premiums shall be a mandatory part of the plan for all employees.

Section 9. The County agrees to provide a Dental & Vision Plan for all employees, at no cost to
the employee. The Dental & Vision Plan will be administered by CSEA. The employee may
enroll in family dental coverage at total cost to the employee. The employee may enroll in
family vision coverage and will pay 20% of the composite rate effective November 1, 2021.
The County agrees to allow for payroll deductions for premium payments.

ARTICLE XIV: RETIREMENT

Section 1. Any employee of the St. Lawrence County Sheriff's Department appointed to a
permanent, full-time position in the Classified Civil Service must join the New York State
Employees' Retirement System as a condition of employment. Membership for all other employees

is optional.

Section 2. Eligibility for membership in the Retirement program shall commence on the first (1st)
day of employment. This benefit is not automatic. Application must be made through the St.

Lawrence County Personne] Office.

The County agrees to provide the New York State Retirement Plan currently in effect with the
following options, where applicable: Section 41-J.

Section 3. The County agrees to pay $3,000 to any employee who retires after 25 years of service
but before 26 years 6 months of service.

Section 4.

(a) Any employee may use the cash value of any unused sick time to pay up to a maximum of two
year’s of health insurance premiums.

(b) Effective for any employee who retires after the signing of this contract, any employee with
1,250 or more hours of unused sick time may use the cash value to pay up to a maximum of
fifteen (15) years of health insurance premiums. Employee must have been enrolled for five
years and are enrolled in the health plan at the time of retirement.
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Section 5. An employee may continue health insurance benefits after retirement by meeting the
following requirements as well as the requirements set forth in the summary plan document:

(a) Employee must continue to make premium contributions;

(b) Employee must have been enrolled in the health plan for five (5) years;
(¢) Employee must be enrolled in the health plan at the time of retirement.

ARTICLE XV: SENIORITY

Section 1. Seniority for contractual purposes, shall commence with the date of first full time hire
by the Sheriff’s Department in this bargaining unit. Time in title will not be retroactive. Time
served as provisional, temporary, or probationary shall count for time in title upon ratification

without retroactivity.

Section 2. Before an employee is dismissed for reason of cut-back, job abolishment or any other
form of attrition, he will be given preference for placement in existing jobs for which he is qualified.
Said abolishment and job placement will be done in accordance with law and other sections of this

agreement.

Section 3.

(a) Seniority for the purposes of time off, shift bidding and distribution of overtime shall be time in
title in the St. Lawrence County Sheriff's Department. Time served as provisional, temporary, or
probationary shall count for time in title upon ratification without retroactivity.

(b) Where there are two or more employees with same time in title, the tie shall be broken by time
division, i.e., correction and civil, time in St. Lawrence County Sheriff's Department and Civil
Service test score. Tie results from identical test score shall be broken by a coin toss.

Section 4. Seniority for layoff and recall shall be defined by Civil Service law and shall be done in
accordance with the Manual on Layoff Procedure issued by the New York State Department of

Civil Service.

ARTICLE XVI: UNIFORMS

Section 1. The employer shall provide uniforms and equipment, as itemized herein, to all
employees of the Sheriff's Office who are required to wear uniforms. The local union will be
consulted concerning any proposed changes in uniforms and equipment.

Section 2. The Sheriff shall prescribe the uniforms to be wom by employees on duty. All items
shall be consistent with standards established by the Sheriff. Uniforms and equipment provided by
the Sheriff shall be used by employees while performing their official duties in the service of the

Sheriff's Office.
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Section 3. The employer agrees to furnish each employee required to wear a uniform within the
Correctional Division the following within thirty (30) days of their employment:

A work uniform consisting of’

3 - pairs of pants 1 - hand cuff carrier

3 - long sleeve shirts 1 - glove pouch

3 - short sleeve shirts 1 - set of collar insignias
1 - fleece jacket 1 - winter coat

1 - set of handcuffs

The employer shall pay the employees the sum of $800 for purchasing/washing/maintaining their
own shoes and uniform each year. This sum is to be paid in the first pay period in the month of

December.

Section 4. The Sheriff shall determine the style of uniform and the dates of changing from summer
to winter uniforms, and vice versa.

Section 5. When an employee terminates employment with the Sheriff's Department, he shall return
his uniform and equipment issuance prior to receipt of his final pay check.

Section 6. The County agrees to reimburse any new employee for the cost of the Criminal History
Check and Fingerprinting.

ARTICLE XVII: MILEAGE & TRAVEL REIMBURSEMENT

Section 1. Any employee who is required to use their personal vehicle in the performance of
official business shall be reimbursed at the current IRS rate.

Section 2. If an employee is required to travel in excess of 400 miles in a day, it shall be considered
an “overnight.”” Expenses incurred for meals and lodging are payable upon presentation of receipts.

ARTICLE XVIII: HAZARDOUS DUTY BENEFIT

A Hazardous Duty Benefit (HDB) shall go into effect on the anniversary date of an employee’s
3rd, 5th, 10th, 15th, and 20th year of service. Each step is worth fifty cents ($.50), sixty-five
cents ($.65), ninety cents ($.90), one dollar and five cents ($1.05), and one dollar and forty cents
($1.40) on the employee’s hourly rate, up to 2,080 hours annually.

ARTICLE XIX: RECIPROCAL RIGHTS

Section 1. The County shall so administer its obligations under this Agreement in a manner which
shall be fair and impartial to all employees and shall not discriminate against any employees by
reason of sex, nationality, race, creed, political affiliation or union affiliation.
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Section 2.

(a) The County agrees that all employees covered by this Agreement shall have the right to
examine their personnel files. One file is maintained by the St. Lawrence County Personnel
Office and the other file is maintained by the Sheriff. These files shall contain their personnel
application, evaluations, and all letters of commendation, reprimand, suspension, fines,
demotions and any and all work related actions that have taken place during his/her employment
with the department. Such review shall be in the presence of the Personnel Officer or his
designee or the Sheriff or his designee, as the case may be, during regular hours.

(b) No letter of criticism, or any other document derogatory in nature may be placed in an
employee's official personnel files as described in 2(a) without the employee first having an
opportunity to review the document. Should the employee, upon review of the document
disagree with all or part of any such letter, he shall have the right to seek removal of any part or
all of the document by filing a grievance in accordance with Article XXI, Section 6, Stages 1, 2,
and 3 only of this Agreement. If at the time of the effective date of this Agreement, there exists

procedure.

Section 3. No employee shall be requested to take a polygraph test for any reason whatsoever.,

recommended by the Sheriff to the County Administrator, with every case to be considered
separately for tuition and educational expense reimbursement.

Section 5. The County agrees that medical/mental health examinations requested by the County
shall be paid by the County except those required under the present sick leave policy. The County
may request a medical/mental health examination at any time and shall have the right to name the
physician/mental health professional to conduct the medical/mental health examination. In addition,
an individual employee may elect to have his own physician/mental health professional perform a
medical/mental health examination which expenses shall be bomne by the employee.

Section 6.

(@) The County agrees to permit Council 82 AF SCME, Local 23908 representatives to represent
any employee(s) before the appropriate body involving the employee(s) grade allocation.
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(b) Any new position in the bargaining unit shall be created by the County Legislative Board, who
shall establish the classification, title and pay grade. Council 82 AFSCME, Local 23908 will
be notified of the title and pay grade and will be furnished a Job specification of the position. If
Council 82, AFSCME, Local 23908 determines that the salary grade is Improper because of
required skills, education, training and experience as compared to other positions in the same
salary grade, Council 82, AFSCME, Local 23908 shall, within fifteen (15) working days,
request a meeting of the Labor-Management Committee to determine whether the position is
assigned to the proper salary grade. The position's salary grade will be placed in effect upon the
creation of the position and, if as a result of the Labor-Management Commitee decision, an
adjustment is necessary, the adjustment shall be effective at the beginning of the succeedin £ pay
period following the approval of the County Board of Legislators.

(c) The County shall notify the Union before any positions are eliminated from the bargaining unit.
(This does not constitute a request.)

Section 7. The County agrees that all civil service examinations will be well advertised in advance
and copies of each examination notice will be placed on bulletin boards throughout the County.
Results of said examinations will be published as soon as they are released by the County Personnel
Office. Copies of each examination notice and press release of marks will be furnished to the
President of Council 82, AFSCME, Local 23908S.

Section 10. The County agrees to maintain appropriate safety and security features.

Section 11. The Sheriff shall continue to use the evaluation system devised jointly by the Union
and the County. The Sheriff shall evaluate all departmental personnel on an annual basis. Any
individual receiving an unsatisfactory evaluation shall be re-evaluated after six months. The Sheriff
shall continue to use the evaluation system devised Jointly by the Union and the County. (See
Standardized Performance Evaluation System Section "H ")

become members of the Union, or refrain from becoming members of the Union. There shall be no
discrimination, interference, restraint, or coercion by the County or the Union or any County or
Union representative against any employee because of Union membership or lack thereof or
because of any employee activity permissible under the Taylor Law and this Agreement in an
official capacity on behalf of the Union.

Section 13. All references to employees in this Agreement designate both sexes, and wherever the
male gender is used it shall be construed to include male and female.
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Section 14. The County agrees that in any case of transfer to another County Department, an
employee's sick, vacation and personal leave accruals shall be transferred with the employee and
such employee shall receive credit for such accruals in the department to which he is transferred.

Section 15. All references to employees in this agreement shall mean only employees as defined in
Article III, Section 1.

Section 16. The Employer shall accord the Union three (3) separate deductions on its payroll for
payroll deductions authorized in writin g by the employee.

ARTICLE XX: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURE

Section 1. Exclusive Procedure

Discipline shall be imposed upon employees otherwise subject to the provisions of Sections 75 and
76 of the Civil Service Law only pursuant to this Article, and the procedure and remedies herein
provided shall apply in lieu of the procedure and remedies prescribed by such sections of the Civil
Service Law which shall not apply to employees.

Section 2. Disciplinary Procedure

(a) Discipline shall be imposed only for just cause. Where the appointing authority or his designee
seeks the imposition of a Joss of leave credits or other privilege, written reprimand, fine,
suspension without pay, reduction in grade, or dismissal from service, notice of such discipline
shall be made in writing and served, in person or by registered or certified mail, upon the
employee. The conduct for which discipline is being imposed and the penalty proposed shall be
specified in the notice. The notice served on the employee shall contain a detailed description of
the alleged acts and conduct including reference to dates, times and places. The employee shall
be provided with two copies of the notice which shall include the statement: "You are provided
two copies in order that one may be given to your representative."

(b) The Union President shall be notified in writing of any discipline within 24 hours of the
discipline. This notice shall not contain the employee's name. It shall contain the charges and

the discipline enacted.

the Sheriff or his designee in person or by registered or certified mail within 10 days of the date
of the notice of discipline by the employee or the Union. The employee or the Union shall be
entitled to a meeting to present his position to the Sheriff or his designee within 10 days of the
receipt of a disciplinary grievance, and upon consideration of such position, the Sheriff shall
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advise the Union of its response in writing by registered or certified mail within 10 days of such
meeting.

(¢) If the disciplinary grievance is not settled or otherwise resolved, it may be appealed to
disciplinary arbitration by the employee within 10 days of the service of the Sheriff's response.

(f) The Employer and the Union shall continue the procedure for the arbitration process pursuant to
the voluntary rules of arbitration of the Public Employee Relations Board.

(g) The disciplinary arbitrator shall hold a hearing within 14 days of his qualification and shall
render a decision within 10 days of the date of the close of the hearing or within 10 days after
receipt of the transcript, if either party elects a transcript.

(h) Either party wishing a transcript at a disciplinary arbitration hearing may provide for one at its
own expense and shall provide a copy to the arbitrator and the other party. Unless mutually
agreed otherwise, transcripts must be requested prior to the first day of a disciplinary arbitration.

(i) Disciplinary arbitrators shall confine themselves to determinations of guilt or innocence and the
appropriateness of proposed penalties. Disciplinary arbitrators shall neither add to, subtract
from nor modify the provisions of this Agreement. The disciplinary arbitrator's decision with
respect to guilt or innocence, penalty, or probable cause for suspension, pursuant to Section 4 of
this Article, shall be final and binding upon the parties, and the disciplinary arbitrator may
approve, disapprove or take any other appropriate action warranted under the circumstances,
including, but not limited to, ordering reinstatement and back pay for all or part of the period of
suspension. If the disciplinary arbitrator, upon review, finds probably cause for the suspension,
he may consider such suspension in determining the penalty to be imposed.

(j) All fees and expenses of the arbitrator, if any, shall be divided equally between the Employer
and the Union or between the Employer and the employee if such employee chooses not to be
represented by the Union. Each party shall bear the costs of preparing and presenting its own
case. The estimated arbitrator's fee and expenses and estimated expenses of the arbitration may

be collected in advance of the hearing.
(k) In the event that any employee against whom disciplinary charges are brought by the Employer

elects to be represented by any party other than the Union, such employee shall be individually
responsible for all expenses which are incurred in connection with such disciplinary proceeding.

Section 3. Seftlements

A disciplinary grievance may be settled at any time following the service of a notice of discipline.
The terms of the settlement shall be reduced to writing. An employee offered such a settlement
shall be offered a reasonable opportunity to have his attorney or a Union representative present
before he is required to execute it. The Union President or his designee at the appropriate level shall
be provided with a copy of any settlement within 24 hours of its execution.
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Section 4. Suspension before Notice of Discipline

(a) Prior to issuing a notice of discipline or the exhaustion of the disciplinary grievance procedure
provided for in this Article, an employee may be suspended without pay by his appointing
authority only pursuant to paragraphs (1) or (2) below.

1. The appointing authority or his designee may suspend without pay an employee when the
appointing authority or his designee determines that there is probably cause that such
employee's continued presence on the job represents a potential danger to persons or
property or would severely interfere with its operations. Such determination shall be
reviewable and shall be served no later than seven days following any such suspension.

2. The appointing authority or his designee may suspend without pay an employee charged
with the commission of a crime. Such employee shall notify his appointing authority in
writing of the disposition of any criminal charge including a certified copy of such
disposition within seven days thereof. Within 30 days following such suspension under
this provision, or within seven days from receipt by the appointing authority of notice of
disposition of the charge from the employee, whichever occurs first, a notice of discipline
shall be served on such employee or he shall be reinstated with back pay. Nothing in this
paragraph shall limit the right of the appointing authority or his designee to take
disciplinary action during the pendency of criminal proceedings.

3. When an employee has been suspended without pay, the department meeting may be
waived by the employee or by the Union, with the consent of the employee at the time of
filing of the disciplinary grievance. In the event of such waiver, the employee or the Union
shall file the grievance form within the prescribed time limits for filing a grievance directly
with PERB. The case shall be given priority in assignment.

4. An employee who is charged with the commission of a crime, suspended without pay and
subsequently not found guilty and against whom no disciplinary action is taken for the

incident in question, shall be reinstated with full back pay.

(b) A registered or certified letter notifying the President of the Union of any suspension under
paragraph (a) above shall be sent within one day, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.

Section 5. Union Representation

An employee shall be entitled to be represented at a disciplinary grievance meeting. Such
representatives shall not suffer any loss of earnings or be required to charge leave credits as a result
of processing or investigating disciplinary grievances during such employees' scheduled working
hours. Reasonable and necessary time spent in processing and investigating grievances, including
travel time, during such employees' scheduled working hours shall be considered as time worked
provided, however, that when such activities extend beyond such employees' scheduled working
hours, such time shall not be considered as time worked.
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Section 6. Limitation

An employee shall not be disciplined for acts, except those which would constitute a crime, which
occurred more than twelve (12) months prior to the service of the notice of discipline. The
employee's whole record of employment, however, may be considered with respect to the

appropriateness of the penalty to be imposed, if any.

Section 7. Other Actions

Shift, job transfer or other reassignments to another work station shall not be made for the purpose
of imposing discipline provided; however, that nothing in this paragraph shall bar any action
otherwise taken pursuant to this Article.

ARTICLE XXI: GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

Section 1. Declaration of Policy

The purpose of the Grievance Procedure is to provide an orderly process whereby employees of the
County may equitably and expeditiously settle any difference or grievances that may arise in the
course of their employment, free from coercion, restraint, interference, discrimination or reprisal.
The provisions contained herein shall be liberally construed for the accomplishment of these

objectives.

Section 2. No provision in this agreement shall be interpreted to require the union to process a
grievance of an employee at any stage of the grievance procedure if the union considers the

grievance to be without merit.

Section 3. Definitions

(a) "Decision" means the employer's explanation of the subject matter of a complaint.

(b) "Union" means Council 82 AFSCME, Local 2390S.

(c) "Board" means the St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators.

(d) "Complaint" means the written allegations constituting a grievance.

(e) "Day" means 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding contract Holidays.

(f) "Employee" shall mean any person or persons employed by St. Lawrence County Sheriff's
Department as covered by this agreement.

(g) "Grievance" shall mean any disputed matter pertaining to conditions of employment, including
the meaning, application and interpretation of this agreement.
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(h) "Immediate Superior" shall mean the officer of the next higher level of authority who normally
supervises the employees' work and approves his or her time record or evaluates his or her work

performance.

Section 4. Time Limits

(a) The time limits set forth in this Article are of the essence. They may, however, be extended by
mutual agreement of the parties.

(b) Any step of the grievance procedure may be by-passed by mutual agreement, in writing.

(¢) In the case of a class action grievance, the grievance may be submitted directly to the Sheriff or
his designee.

(d) A grievance must be originally presented within ten (10) work days of its occurrence or the date
on which the employee could reasonably have been expected to have known of the occurrence.

(¢) Failure to comply with the time limits established for any stage of the procedure shall be
deemed a withdrawal of the grievance, if on the part of the employee; should the employer or its
representative fail to timely respond at any step of the procedure, the employee shall then
entitled to appeal to the next step or directly to arbitration, as the case may be.

Section 5. Union Stewards and Representatives

Employees designated by the Union to act as representatives shall be known as stewards, and only
one (1) shall have the right to investigate and process grievances during their scheduled working
hours without loss of pay or accruals. Employees seeking released time for this purpose shall
request permission from their supervisor, which shall not be unreasonably denied. It is understood
that not more than one (1) steward will be granted release time at a time in the provision of this
section. The Union shall provide a current list of names and work locations of all employees
designated as stewards. The County is not obligated to recognize as a steward any person whose
name does not appear on the current list. The President or his designee, grievant, and necessary
witnesses shall suffer no loss of pay or accruals for time spent in any grievance or arbitration

hearings, including travel time.

Section 6. Grievance Procedure

Stage 1. The Union steward or other authorized representative of the Union, with or without the
aggrieved employee, shall present the grievance orally to the immediate superior. The immediate
superior may then make such investigation as he deems appropriates, including consultation with
this superior. A decision shall be rendered to the grievant and his representative within five (5)
work days after the presentation to him at this stage. If the immediate superior does not respond, the

Union shall proceed to the next stage.

Stage 2. If the matter is not settled at Stage 1, the grievance may be submitted within ten (10) work
days of the date such decision is received by the local Union President or his authorized
representative to the Sheriff or his designee. The Sheriff or his designee shall refer the grievance to
the Grievance Resolution Committee consisting of two (2) representatives from Management and
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two (2) representatives from the Union. This Committee shall meet and review the grievance. If a
mutually agreed solution is found, it becomes the Committee's non-binding recommendation to the
Sheriff. This meeting and recommendation to the Sheriff must be forwarded to the Sheriff no later
than ten (10) work days that the grievance was received by the Sheriff. A meeting shall be held
between the Sheriff or his designee and the Union President or his designee not later than fifteen
(15) work days after the date the grievance is submitted at this stage. The Sheriff or his designee
shall transmit to the Union President or his designee in writing the decision on any grievance matter
within ten (10) work days after the date such meeting is held.

Stage 3: If the matter is not settled at Stage 2, the grievance may be submitted within ten (10) work
days of the date such decision is received, by the Union President or his designee to the Chairman of
the Board of Legislators or his designee. A meeting shall be held between the Chairman of the
Board of Legislators or his designee and the Union's President or his designee not later than ten (10)
work days after submitting the grievance at this stage. The Chairman of the Board of Legislators or
his designee shall transmit to the Union, in writing, his decision on any grievance matter within ten
(10) work days of the date that such meeting is held.

Stage 4: If the grievance remains unsettled, the employee and/or union may submit the grievance to
binding arbitration by written notice to the Chairman of the Board of Legislators within fifteen (15)
days of the decision at Stage 3. Within five (5) days after such written notice of submission to
arbitration, the aggrieved party shall request a list of arbitrators from the Public Employee Relations
Board. The parties will then be bound by the Rules and Procedures of the Public Employee

Relations Board in the selection of an arbitrator.

Stage 5: Arbitration Procedure

(a) In the event that the Union desires to submit an unresolved grievance to arbitration, a notice of
the demand for arbitration together with a copy of the grievance shall be sent by registered or
certified mail to the Sheriff, the County, and the Public Employee Relations Board, which shall
select the arbitrator according to its rules of procedure.

(b) Arbitrators shall be requested to render their decisions on any matter submitted to arbitration
within thirty (30) calendar days of the date that the arbitration hearing was held, or within thirty
(30) calendar days of the submission date of any written briefs, should such be required. The
rules of procedure of the Public Employee Relations Board shall be used in the conducting of all

arbitration hearings.

(¢) No arbitrator functioning under this step shall have the power to amend, modify or delete any
provision of this Agreement. The decision of the arbitrator shall be final and binding on both

parties.

(d) The parties shall share equally the cost of the arbitration, exclusive of the cost of
presentation, which shall be borne by the respective parties.
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ARTICLE XXII: SAVINGS CLAUSE

Section 1. The employer retains all ijts rights and privileges not specifically limited by this
agreement,

Section 2. This agreement shall constitute the full and complete understanding between the County
and the Union and may be altered, changed, added to, deleted from or modified only through
mutual, voluntary consent of the parties in a written and signed amendment to this agreement.

Section 4. This agreement shall remain in effect until 11:59 pPM on December 31, 2026. Either
party hereto may, on or after July 1, 2026, serve notice, in writing, upon the other party of its desire
to amend, modify or terminate this agreement effective January 1, 2027. In such event, the parties
and/or representatives shall commence negotiations immediately on such proposed amendments or
modifications for a succeeding agreement.

agreement is signed.
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ARTICLE XXIII: LEGISLATIVE APPROVAL

IT IS AGREED BY AND BETWEEN THE PARTIES THAT PROVISION OF THIS
AGREEMENT REQUIRING LEGISLATIVE ACTION TO PERMIT ITS IMPLEMENTATION
BY AMENDMENT OF LAW OR BY PROVIDING THE ADDITIONAL FUNDS THEREFORE
SHALL NOT BECOME EFFECTIVE UNTIL THE APPROPRIATE LEGISLATIVE BODY

HAS GIVEN APPROVAL. -

In witness whereof, the parties have hereunto set their hands and seal this | day of |\ oy eni.2021.

ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY Council 82 AFSCME, Local 23908

L

| : 74 S
William Sheridan, Chair Gregory @z{reylf Ldbor Relations Specialist
St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators “ Council 82 AFSCME, Local 23908
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November 1, 2021

RESOLUTION NO. 341-202 1

AUTHORIZING THE CHAIR TO SIGN A CONTRACT WITH
COUNCIL 828, LOCAL 2390, FOR 2022-2026

By Mr. Perkins, District 7; M. Lightfoot, District 3 ; and Mr. Acres, District 8

WHEREAS, a bargaining unit for the St. Lawrence County Correctional Supervisors
was established in 2015 and worked with St. Lawrence County to establish an inaugural contract

WHEREAS, the contract negotiations between St. Lawrence County and Council 828,
Local 2390 are now complete, and

WHEREAS, as a result of contract negotiations, St. Lawrence County believes that it is
in the best interest of both parties to successfully conclude the process with a five (5) year
collective bargaining agreement (2022-2026), and

WHEREAS, as of October 28,2021, St. Lawrence County was notified of the successful
ratification of the Collective Bargaining Agreement,

NOW, THEREF ORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Legislators authorized the
Chair to sign a contract with Council 828, Local 2390, for 2022-2026, upon the advice and
approval of the St. Lawrence County Negotiating Team with forma ratification by the
membership of Council 828, Local 2390.

STATE OF NEW YORK )
) ss:
COUNTY OF ST. LAWRENCE )

I, Kelly S. Pearson, Deputy Clerk of the St Lawrence County Board of Legislators, DO HEREBY CERTIFY that | have compared this

Resolution No. 341-202) =ntitled “Authorizing the Chair to Sign a Contract with Council 828, Local 2390, for 2022-2026", adopted November
1,2021, with the original record in this office and that the same is a correct transeript thereof and of the whale of said original record.

Kellin S, Peavspn
Kelly 8. Pearson, Deputy Clerk

St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators
November 2, 2021
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Couicil 82, AFSCME Local 23908
¢ Labor Relations Specialist

Rick Perkins
St. Lawrence County
3 and of Le,gxs]ators

St. Lawfenoe County
Board of Legisla

£.. Lawrence County

Board of Legislators
ﬁ 3

St. Lawmnce County
Under Sheriff '

Peggy Hﬁ J -

St. Lawrence County

Jail Administrator
L% I ==
i —
Tim Amo

St. Lawrence County
Assistant Jail Administrator
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APPENDIX A
SALARY SCHEDULE

Employees move up one (1) step effective January 8, 2022, January 7, 2023, January 6, 2024,
January 4, 2025 and January 3, 2026. (Ex. calendar year 2022- effective date 01/08/2022 paid

on 01/28/2022)
Employees will be paid eighty (80) hours of hazardous duty pay per payroll period.

Anniversary date is the date of hire for full-time employment in the St. Lawrence County Sheriff's
Department.

Any employee who receives 2 promotion during the life of the contract shall go to the next closest
higher pay on the salary schedule effective the first full pay period following the effective date,

Longevity:

Full Time employees who reach, the following anniversaries during a contract year shall receive
the following bonus payment. These additions will be effective on the employee's anniversary
date (after breaks in service are deducted). Further, these additions are not added on to the base
salary of the employee and are not subject to the percentage salary increases stipulated in Article
V of this agreement.

Note: The amounts shown are not cumulative,

12 - 14 years $500

15 -19 years $750

20 years and more $1,250
APPENDIX A

$69,841
$71,762

Administration of Salary Plan.
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