

ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY OFFICE OF THE COUNTY CLERK

48 Court Street, County Courthouse Canton, New York 13617-1198 Telephone (315) 379-2237 Fax (315) 379-2302 Sandra W. Santamoor
St. Lawrence County Clerk
Melissa Friedel
St. Lawrence Deputy County Clerk
Lisa Woodard
St. Lawrence Deputy County Clerk

IMPORTANT INFORMATION PLEASE SAVE

STOLEN or LOST HANDGUNS

- Firearms lost or stolen must be reported to a police agency within 24 hours of discovery. A copy of the police report must be supplied to the pistol license office in person within 72 hours of reporting it stolen or lost to the police agency. Firearms stolen from a vehicle will almost certainly result in revocation.
- It is the pistol license holder's responsibility to keep all handguns in a safe and secure location at all times. Handguns must be in a safe or gun cabinet that cannot be easily broken into or removed from the premises. Any handguns stolen from an unsecured place will seriously jeopardize your license leading to the suspension and/or revocation of your pistol license. PEN § 400.10

MOVING OUT OF STATE - ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE

- Any address change or name change must be reported in person to the pistol license office within 10 days of the change. If you change your residence to another county, you must request a transfer of your license.
- You MUST surrender your pistol license to this office as soon as you take up residence in another state. Forward your license back to the pistol license office with an amendment form, marked surrender. The completed amendment must list your new address and where all the guns that were on your pistol license list are. Your license will then be cancelled, if you move back to New York you will have to reapply.

LICENSE HOLDER DIES

• The executor or administrator of a pistol licensee's estate may hold firearms for 15 days without license, for the purpose of lawful disposal. After that, the weapons must be surrendered to a law enforcement agency, for safekeeping. Such agency will hold the firearms for up to two years, and upon authorization by the executor or administrator during this period, will turn them over to a party who is lawfully entitled to possess them. If the weapons are not disposed of within the two year limitation, they must be treated as a nuisance, and destroyed. It is unusual that the courts appoint an executor or administrator within the 15 days allowed for license-exempt possession. Dealers should note the purchases made under these circumstances should be entered in their record books as a purchase made from "the estate of" the licensee concerned. PL 265.20(1)(f)

GUNS PURCHASED FROM A DEALER OR SOLD TO A DEALER

• A <u>legible</u> detailed receipt from the dealer showing the dealer name and address. The <u>legible</u> receipt must also include the name, address and license number of purchaser or seller. Gun information that must be included on the <u>legible</u> receipt - make, model, caliber, serial number and specify if it is a semi-automatic / or revolver.

PRIVATE FIREARMS SALES/TRANSFERS

Except for sales or transfers between immediate family members, all sales or transfers of firearms between private individuals must include a National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) check of the buyer or transfere of the firearm by an FFL. Sales or transfers between immediate family members, including <u>spouse</u>, <u>domestic partners</u>, <u>children</u> and <u>step-children</u>, are exempt from the background check requirement. An FFL, is not required to facilitate private sales, but if they choose to do so, they may charge up to \$10 for this service.

ALL GUNS PURCHASED OUT OF STATE

• Firearms must be transferred from an out of state dealer to a NYS firearms dealer ONLY. Do not bring any pistol or revolver into New York State from any other state. New York is a carry concealed State. All firearms must be carried concealed in any public format with the exception of a supervised range or in the woods hunting.