

ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY OFFICE OF THE COUNTY CLERK

48 Court Street, County Courthouse Canton, New York 13617-1198 Telephone (315) 379-2237 Fax (315) 379-2302 Sandra W. Santamoor St. Lawrence County Clerk Melissa Friedel St. Lawrence Deputy County Clerk

ADITIONAL RECORDING FEE EFFECTIVE MARCH 11, 2020

As of March 11, 2020, an additional \$10.00 fee will be added to all residential deed recordings.

On December 12, 2019, Gouverneur Cuomo signed into law an <u>amendment</u> to Real Property Law § 291 that requires County Clerks to notify the owner(s) of record of residential real property when a document is recorded affecting said residential property. The title of this notice is: NOTICE OF SALE OR TRANSFER OF OWNERHSIP FOR YOUR RESIDENTAL PORPERTY, an example can be viewed <u>here</u>. The law also allows for reasonable fee to be assessed for said notices.

In order to provide uniformity throughout New York State the New York State Association of County Clerks has determined that \$10.00 is a reasonable fee per document.

The fee will apply to property class codes 200-299, 411-C and 411-D on the RP-5217 form. For more information on class codes go to https://www.stlawco.org/data/files/departments/RealProperty/Prop%20Class%20Codes.pdf

In St. Lawrence County, this fee will apply to residential deed documents executed on or after March 11, 2020.

This fee does not apply to commercial transactions.