St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators Board Room and Live Via YouTube Operations Committee Monday, December 9, 2024 5:30 PM

Members Attending: Mr. Burke, **Ms. Curran,** Mr. Denesha, Mr. Fay, Mr. Forsythe, Mr. Gennett, <del>Ms. Haggard</del>, Mr. Hull, Mr. Lightfoot, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Reagen (arrived at 5:45p.m), Mr. Sheridan, Mr. Smithers, Ms. Terminelli, and Mr. Webster

- **1. CALL TO ORDER AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA -** Ms. Curran called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. Mr. Forsythe moved to approve the agenda, seconded by Mr. Fay, and Mr. Webster, and carried by a voice vote with thirteen (13) yes votes, and two (2) absent votes (Haggard, and Reagen).
- **2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES -** Mr. Webster moved to approve the minutes of November 18, 2024, seconded by Mr. Perkins, and carried by a voice vote with thirteen (13) yes votes, and two (2) absent votes (Haggard, and Reagen).

## 3. BOARD OF ELECTIONS – JENNIE BACON AND TOM NICHOLS

A. Authorizing the Chair to Sign a Contract with NTS Data Services for Voter Registration Renewal, Signature Digitization, Full Document Imaging, Election Reporting, and Interface Messaging System Maintenance for the Board of Elections – Mr. Forsythe moved to forward this resolution to Full Board, seconded by Mr. Fay, and carried by a voice vote with thirteen (13) yes votes, and two (2) absent votes (Haggard, and Reagen).

# 4. DISTRICT ATTORNEY – GARY PASQUA

A. Authorizing the Chair to Sign a Federal Equitable Sharing Program Agreement and Annual Certification Report – Mr. Forsythe moved to forward this resolution to Full Board, seconded by Mr. Lightfoot, and carried by a voice vote with thirteen (13) yes votes, and two (2) absent votes (Haggard, and Reagen).

#### 5. SHERIFF – PATRICK ENGLE

A. Modifying the 2024 Budget for the Sheriff's Office for Related Expenses that have Exceeded the Budget – Mr. Forsythe moved to forward this resolution to Full Board, seconded by Mr. Smithers, Mr. Denesha, and Mr. Webster, and carried by a voice vote with thirteen (13) yes votes, and two (2) absent votes (Haggard, and Reagen).

B. Authorizing the Continuation of the School Resource Officer Program with the School Resource Deputy (SRD) Model and Piloting a Six-Month Cost-Share Agreement with the Heuvelton Central School District – Mr. Forsythe moved to forward this resolution to Full Board, seconded by Mr. Smithers, and Mr. Denesha, and carried by a voice vote with thirteen (13) yes votes, and two (2) absent votes (Haggard, and Reagen).

C. Authorizing the Creation of Part Time Special Patrol Officer Positions for the Sheriff's Office – Mr. Hull moved to forward this resolution to Full Board, seconded by Mr. Forsythe, and carried by a voice vote with fourteen (14) yes votes, and one (1) absent vote (Haggard).

Mr. Reagen arrived at 5:45 p.m.

#### 6. EMERGENCY SERVICES – RICK RUSAW

A. Status Update on Review of EMS Response Times and Recommendation about a Countywide Certificate of Need (CON) by Rick Rusaw, Deputy Director, Emergency Services (Discussion)

## 7. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT – RUTH DOYLE

A. Modifying the 2024 Budget for the County Administrator's Office for the Fourth (4th) Counsel at First Appearance (CAFA) Grant for 2023-2025 for Indigent Defense – Mr. Forsythe moved to forward this resolution to Full Board, seconded by Mr Denesha, and Mr. Perkins, and carried by a voice vote with fourteen (14) yes votes, and one (1) absent vote (Haggard).

Mr. Lightfoot and Mr. Webster left the meeting at 5:40 p.m.

Ms. Doyle gave an update on the progress of arming probation officers, the formation of committees, and the scheduling of meetings.

The annual department head training is scheduled for Wednesday, December 11, 2024.

The first active assailant drill will be held on Friday, December 13, 2024.

Additionally, there will be a transfer of funds for the Sheriff's office to cover K9 expenses, as well as a transfer for the County Administrator's budget to support the lease of new equipment in the mail room.

#### 8. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- A. Agriculture & Farmland Protection Board (Denesha) Mr. Denesha
- B. Alternative to Incarceration Board (Burke) No report
- C. Board of Trustees for Supreme Court Library (Haggard) No report
- D. Emergency Medical Services Advisory Board (Curran) Ms. Curran
- E. Environmental Management Council (Terminelli) Ms. Terminelli
- F. Fire Advisory Board (Denesha) No report
- G. Jury Board (Sheridan) No report
- H. Local Government Task Force (Curran) No report

I. Planning Board (Fay) – No report

# 9. OLD/NEW BUSINESS - There was no old/new business.

Mr. Forsythe moved to go to Executive Session at 7:25 p.m., to discuss negotiations, and appointments, seconded by Mr. Fay, and carried by a voice vote with twelve (12) yes votes, and three (3) absent votes (Haggard, Lightfoot, and Webster).

Mr. Webster returned at 7:31 p.m.

# 10. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mr. Perkins moved to go to Open Session at 7:38p.m., seconded by Mr. Forsythe, and carried by a voice vote with thirteen (13) yes votes, and two (2) absent votes (Haggard, and Lightfoot).

## 11. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Curran moved to adjourn the Operations Committee Meeting at 7:40 p.m., as there was no further business.