

St. Lawrence County Environmental Management Council

49½ Court Street, Canton, New York 13617-1169 Phone: (315) 379-2292 Fax: (315) 379-2252

E-mail: Planning@stlawco.org

Web Site: http://www.stlawco.org/Planning/EMC.htm

MEETING MINUTES July 15, 2020 Via ZOOM

Action items in bold italics / Motions underlined.

1. Call to Order: In the absence of the Chair, Vice Chair Donald O'Shea called the meeting to order at 6:05 PM.

2. Roll Call, Determination of Quorum: A quorum was present.

<u>Members present</u>: Don O'Shea, *Vice Chair*; Sue Rau; Nicole Terminelli, *BOL Liaison*; Rod Tozzi; Brian Washburn.

Members absent: David Barnes; Aaron Barrigar; Catherine Bennett, *Chair*; Jennifer Berbrich; Joseph Brant; Ryan Burkum; Richard Marshall; Lance Rudiger; Tiernan Smith; Pat Whalen, *Secretary*

Guest(s): Emily Sheridan, DEC. Staff: John Tenbusch.

3. Acceptance of Order of Business: No quorum.

4. Hearings, Comments from the Public. No speaker.

- Emily Sheridan reported that Massena had recently signed a settlement with Arconic that will provide \$2,250,000 for the DEC to conduct salvage and relocation of freshwater mussels in the Grasse River. For further information, see the settlement: https://www.dec.ny.gov/docs/remediation_hudson_pdf/arconicnrd.pdf
- **5. Approval of the Minutes of the May 2020 EMC Meeting:** Minutes could not be approved, due to lack of quorum.
 - Brian Washburn reported that there was a mistake in the record of Emily Sheridan's comments: namely the referenced "765 KV line" should have been referred to as "the 345 KV line".
 - Washburn reported that, in Nicole Terminelli's report, the BOL had NOT asked for an opinion concerning large-scale solar projects.
 - Emily Sheridan had a correction about a Webinar series offered by DEC.

6. Report by the Representative of the Board of Legislators:

Nicole Terminelli reported:

- At least one BOL member is opposed to large-scale solar projects that consume prime farmland.
 - Tenbusch suggested a review of Environmental Review documents
 - Sheridan asked if the County's Agriculture Plan refers to large-scale solar projects.
 - o Tenbusch will find out; if yes, he will append the pertinent section(s) to these Minutes.

- The BOL has approved Catherine Bennet as the Chair of the EMC.
- 7. Reports by EMC Members on Conversations with County Legislators: None.
- 8. Report of the Committees:
 - a. Executive Committee: No report.
 - **b.** Conservation of Resources Committee (CRC): John Tenbusch reported that the Committee held an informal meeting.
 - **c.** Environment + Economy Committee (E+E): Tenbusch made the Committee report. See attached.
 - **d.** Invasive Species Committee (ISC). Tenbusch made the Committee report. See attached.
 - e. Watershed Management Committee (WMC). Tenbusch made the Committee report. See attached.
- **9. Report of the Staff:** Tenbusch reported:
 - Planning staff are working with the North Country Housing Council to re-start the existing CDBG projects (septic tank replacement; homeownership assistance) and the Lead-Based Paint Hazard Reduction Program (aka the "Lead grant").
 See attached informational flyer for the Lead Program.
 - Planning staff have submitted the paperwork required before a Release of Funds can be requested for the recent CDBG housing rehabilitation award. This paperwork includes the development of an Environmental Review Record for the program.
 See attached for current income guidelines; for information or to apply, contact the North Country Housing Council, Inc. at 315-386-8576.
 - The Earth Day 50 archive project was announced during April. It will be continued through the end of the year.
 - John Tenbusch announced that the EMC will celebrate its 50th anniversary in 2021. He suggested that EMC members think about how we should observe the occasion.
- 10. Unfinished Business: None.
- 11. New Business: None.
- 12. Announcements:
 - Emily Sheridan announced that SLELO PRISM held its partner meeting today. See their current newsletter at https://www.sleloinvasives.org/newsletter/
- 13. Message to the Board of Legislators: None.
- **14**. **Adjournment:** The meeting adjourned by consensus at 6:45 pm.

Minutes drafted by John Tenbusch